Dead to the World by Charlaine Harris

Published By: Ace

Year of Publication: 2004

Categories: Mystery, Fiction, Vampire, Urban Fantasy

Pages: 291

Summary (from goodreads.com):

When cocktail waitress Sookie Stackhouse sees a naked man on the side of the road, she doesn’t just drive on by. Turns out the poor thing hasn’t a clue who he is, but Sookie does. It’s Eric the vampire–but now he’s a kinder, gentler Eric. And a scared Eric, because whoever took his memory now wants his life.

Review: Every book in the Sookie Stackhouse series I read I end up liking more and more.

In this book Eric takes a leading role instead of Bill. I thought it was interesting to learn more about him, even though he’s not quite “Eric”. I ended up liking him a lot.

We’re introduced to the little town of Hotshot, not too far from Bon Temps. I think Hotshot is going to feature more in the coming books – there’s something about it that’s not quite right.

Up until this book I didn’t really like or dislike Jason – he was always just sort of there in the background. But now that he’s more part of the central story, I’m finding myself liking him. I think he’ll be prominent in the next book too, so I”m excited about that.

I wish Bill had been in this book more. I missed him. I hope I’ll read more about him in the next book.

I hope we hear more about the witches, in the next book too. It seems like with every new magical creature that’s introduced the whole magical world that Charlaine Harris creates seems more and more likely to actually exist – kind of like hiding in plain sight.

I already have the next book, Dead as a Doornail, on hold at the library – I can’t wait to read it.

Image: goodreads.com

Disclosure: I got this book from the library.

3 thoughts on “Dead to the World by Charlaine Harris

  1. Dead To The World is one of my favourite Sookie books, if not the most fave. 🙂

    I won’t spoil you on your comments, although I will confess my fingers are itching to answer questions. XD

  2. Pingback: The Month in Review: June 2010 « Geeky Reads Blog

  3. Pingback: Second Time Sunday (24) « Geeky Reads Blog

Leave a comment