Scary Books in Honor of Halloween

I love scary movies and scary books. I like scaring myself. So with Halloween coming up I thought I’d share a few of my favorite scary books.

The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson

Seriously the most scary book I’ve ever read. Ever! What makes it so scary (to me at least), is that Shirley Jackson makes you use your imagination. You imagine the scariest thing for you, so I think everyone comes away from this book scared, but for slightly different reasons. It’s absolute genius.

The Shining by Stephen King

Okay, I know Stephen King gets a bad rap sometimes. But I really enjoy his books. The scariest one of his that I’ve read so far has got to be The Shining. It’s terrifying. Stephen King was at his creepiest when he wrote this book. When I read this one the first time I couldn’t read it after dark. I had to have a “non scary” book to read at night. And there may have been one night when I had to sleep with the light on cause I was so scared. And I may have been in my 20’s when this happened, so that shows you how scary it was. Or maybe I’m just a big wimp.

Complete Stories and Poems by Edgar Allan Poe

If you’ve never read anything by Edgar Allan Poe you’re definitely missing out on one of the greatest horror writers of all time. My favorites are The Tell Tale Heart and The Raven. Click here for Christopher Walken reading The Raven. He has the perfect voice for it.

Now that you know some of my favorite scary books, what are some of yours?

One thought on “Scary Books in Honor of Halloween

Leave a Reply

