Wake by Lisa McMann

Published By: Simon Pulse

Date of Publication: March 4 2008

Categories:Fiction, Series, Urban Paranormal, YA

Pages: 210

Summary (from goodreads.com): For seventeen-year-old Janie, getting sucked into other people’s dreams is getting old. Especially the falling dreams, the naked-but-nobody-notices dreams, and the sex-crazed dreams. Janie’s seen enough fantasy booty to last her a lifetime.
She can’t tell anybody about what she does they’d never believe her, or worse, they’d think she’s a freak. So Janie lives on the fringe, cursed with an ability she doesn’t want and can’t control.
Then she falls into a gruesome nightmare, one that chills her to the bone. For the first time, Janie is more than a witness to someone else’s twisted psyche. She is a participant.

Review: I read this book in an afternoon – the first time I’ve ever done that with a book. I just couldn’t put it down.

Janie is a very likable main character. She knows what she wants and is willing to put the hard work in to get it, whether it’s taking control of her “problem”, working hard at school to get good grades, or working a job at a nursing home to save up the money to go to university.

Cabel is definitely the kind of guy that I would have liked in high school. In fact, I might have had a crush on a guy that sounds pretty similar to what Cabel is like – right down to the long hair (what can I say, it was high school). I love guys who you have to work to get to know, that are holding something back, that have a deep dark secret. They’re so much interesting than happy go lucky guys. I really enjoyed reading about him.

As much as I liked both Janie and Cabel, I felt like their relationship progressed a little too fast for me. It seems like they went from not talking to each other to kissing and holding hands almost over night. It felt like they skipped a couple steps. But once I figured out where their relationship was, I really liked them together. I’m hoping that I’ll get to read more about the two of them together in the next book in this series, Fade.

I thought the story was really original too. I’ve read a couple other books about dreams, but this one was totally different, and had a great spin on the powers that Janie had. I’m interested to see how Janie uses those powers later on in the series.

I recently read Cryer’s Cross, also by Lisa McMann, and found the writing styles between this one and Cryer’s Cross really different. Surprisingly though, I really liked both of them. So if you didn’t like one try reading the other one, you just might like it.

Image: goodreads.com

Disclosure: I got this book from the library.

Leave a Reply

