Book Blogger Hop (15)

The Book Blogger Hop is hosted every week by Jennifer at Crazy For Books. Thanks Jennifer!

Here’s this week’s question:

“What book-to-movie adaption have you most liked?  Which have you disliked?”

What great timing! This past weekend I watched two versions of Little Women.

The first one was from the 1994, with Susan Sarandon as Marmee, Winona Ryder as Jo, Kirsten Dunst as a young Amy, Claire Danes as Beth, and Christian Bale as Laurie. I loved everything about this movie. And as with every good movie version of this book, it made me cry. A lot.

The second one I watched was from 1949, with Elizabeth Taylor as Amy and Janet Leigh as Meg. I didn’t think this one stayed as true to the book, which I didn’t like. But I think Elizabeth Taylor did a fabulous job as Amy. I thought the casting was a little off, cause one or two of the younger sisters looked older than the older sisters. That’s not to say though that I didn’t like it so much as to not cry, cause there was definitely tears, once again. Though maybe not as many.

So I’d definitely have to go with the 1994 version of Little Women as my favorite. Plus you can’t go wrong with Christian Bale.

Image: Crazy-for-books.com

One thought on “Book Blogger Hop (15)

  1. I loved the 1994 version and think it was quite true to the book. All the casting was exquiset, but Kirsten Dunst stole the show for me.
    Happy Blog Hop Day!

Leave a Reply

