Wildthorn by Jane Eagland

Published By: Macmillan Children’s Books

Year of Publication: February 6, 2009

Categories:Young Adult, Historical Fiction

Pages: 359

Summary (from goodreads.com): Seventeen-year-old Louisa Cosgrove longs to break free from her respectable life as a Victorian doctor’s daughter. But her dreams become a nightmare when Louisa is sent to Wildthorn Hall: labeled a lunatic, deprived of her liberty and even her real name. As she unravels the betrayals that led to her incarceration, she realizes there are many kinds of prison. She must be honest with herself – and others – in order to be set free. And love may be the key…

Review: To be honest, the first thing that drew me in with this book was the cover. I love it! Once I read the summary, I knew that I had to read it. And I’m very happy that I did.

Louisa was a great character. Although she was living during the Victorian era, when women were only allowed to do certain things, that didn’t stop her from wanting to become a doctor like her dad. Her struggle to want to live out her dream is what made me want to read about her.

This book really made me think that I was in the 19th century in Britain. It was probably my favorite thing about it. I absolutely love when a book transports me away like that. If you’re looking for a book to make you forget about real life for awhile, this is definitely the one for you.

I really enjoyed the writing. The story lines flowed well, and I didn’t want to put it down. She manages to alternate between Louisa’s present in the asylum, and her past back at home with her family without being confusing. It was great to be able to learn more about Louisa and her family in the flashbacks, which explain how she ended up in the asylum. There was enough detail to help me imagine exactly what things looked like, without there being too many details and being overwhelming. I know it’s a fine line, but Jane Eagland managed to walk it perfectly.

I will definitely be reading more by Jane Eagland.

Image: goodreads.com

Disclosure: I got this book from the library.

Leave a Reply

