Armchair BEA 2011 Introduction

Hello fellow Armchair BEA participants!

Since Armchair BEA is all about networking and making connections with other bloggers, I love that the first topic is introducing ourselves. I’m looking forward to meeting lots of great bloggers this week.

That’s me. I’ve been reading pretty much non-stop since elementary school. There’s just something about being able to open a book and totally forget about your life and be sucked into a whole different world. It’s awesome. I’ve traveled all over the world – everywhere from a Mennonite colony in Alberta to post-genocide Rwanda, from Tudor England WWII Germany. I can’t imagine what my life would be like, or who I would be without reading. Things would definitely be different.

Besides reading, I like spending time outside. For my job, I grow native plants. Yay for being able to work outside! It’s pretty incredible to think that some of the most prettiest flowers I’ve ever seen grow all by themselves here, with no help whatsoever from people – they just happen. It amazes me every time I see them along the river or in the mountains.

Speaking of the mountains, I love to spend time there. They’re only only an hour’s drive away from where I live, so I spend lots of time there hiking and occasionally camping (I enjoy my warm and soft bed too much to do it more often). I don’t think I’ll ever get used to how big and majestic the mountains are. They’re awe-inspiring.

If you happen to stop by, leave a comment and let me know, I’d love to get to know some new people!

6 thoughts on “Armchair BEA 2011 Introduction

  1. I’ve been reading since forever, too. My mom once told me that when I was a toddler I’d follow her around the house, carrying one of those Golden Books, repeating, “Ree! Ree!”

  2. Great intro — your job sounds marvelous! (And frankly, like the set up of a novel I’d really enjoy!) I just started following your blog — frankly you had me at ‘geeky reads’ and I’m looking forward to the rest of your Armchair BEA posts!

  3. Wow, I’m a bit jealous of your life! I’d offer to switch places, but then all your lovely plants would die because I am horrible at growing things (how I’ve kept my husband alive these past 9 years is due mostly to his own sense of survival).

  4. Totally jealous of all your traveling! Reading is wonderful isn’t it? The worlds, adventures and characters you get lost in *sigh* wonderfully magical. OH an the mountains! I’m from Utah and I used to spend every moment I could up in those canyons. They truly are beautiful! Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂 I love yours and know I’ll be stopping by often!

Leave a Reply

