Pants on fire by Meg Cabot

Published By: Harper Teen

Date of Publication: May 1 2007

Categories:Contemporary, Fiction, Young Adult

Pages: 272

Summary (from goodreads.com):

But she can’t exactly tell the truth, either—not when she’s juggling two boyfriends, secretly hating the high school football team everyone else worships, and trying to have the best summer ever. At least Katie has it all under control (sort of). Her biggest secret, what really happened the night Tommy Sullivan is a freak was spray-painted on the junior high gymnasium wall, is safe.

That is, until Tommy comes back to town. Katie is sure he’s going to ruin all her plans, and she’ll do anything to hang on to her perfect existence. Even if it means telling more lies. Even if, now that Tommy’s around, she’s actually—truthfully—having the time of her life.

Review:  I’ve read quite a few Meg Cabot books, and really enjoyed most of them. To be honest though, this one has to be my least favorite. I’m not quite sure what it was, but this novel just didn’t hit the mark for me.

Maybe it was the fact that I didn’t connect with the main character, Katie. Part of it I think was her lying – she was doing it all the time, and it was obvious from the beginning that they were going to come back to haunt her. Part of it was that she was cheating on her boyfriend. While I can totally understand that people change, they grow apart, the relationship just fizzles, that doesn’t mean you can date someone else while still being together with your boyfriend. The way that Katie led her boyfriend on just irritated me.

There were definitely  good parts of this book though. My favorite character in this book was Tommy. There seemed to be an air of mystery surrounding him – I felt like I had to keep reading to find out more about him. I felt like he was original, that I hadn’t read about a lot of characters like him before. I kept thinking about how hard it would be to be in Tommy’s shoes – to have something like what happened to him happen, move away, thinking it was all in the past, and then have to come back to the same small town and re-live it all over again. It would be really, really hard.

The setting was great too. Although I’ve never lived in a small town, I did work in one for awhile. And it’s amazing how fast gossip gets around. People know everything about their neighbors, co-workers, and friends. Everyone knows everyone else. It’s so much different from a big city. It was very cool to feel like I was a person in that small community, I haven’t felt that before in other books with a similar setting.

So if you’re looking for a fun, quick read that you don’t have to really think about, I would recommend this book (or if you have the uncontrollable urge to lie and cheat on your boyfriend).

Image: goodreads.com

Disclosure: I got this book from the library.

Leave a Reply

