We All Fall Down by Nic Sheff

Published By: Little Brown Books for Young Readers

Date of Publication: April 5, 2011

Categories: Memoir, Mental Illness, Non-Fiction

Pages: 368

Summary (from goodreads.com):

In his bestselling memoir Tweak, Nic Sheff took readers on an emotionally gripping roller-coaster ride through his days as a crystal meth and heroin addict. Now in this powerful follow-up about his continued efforts to stay clean, Nic writes candidly about eye-opening stays at rehab centers, devastating relapses, and hard-won realizations about what it means to be a young person living with addiction.

Nic Sheff and his father, David Sheff, captured a nation of readers with their bestselling memoirs Tweak and Beautiful Boy. Those books explore teen drug addiction from two different points of view: a son’s and a father’s. Nic currently lives in Los Angeles, California.

Review: Once I started reading We All Fall Down, I couldn’t stop. I was immediately drawn into Nic’s world.

And it’s definitely a tough, scary world. You feel like you’re right there with him, going through everything with him. This makes parts of it tough to read, because at times it feels like there’s no hope for Nic, or any other addict. It was definitely interesting to get inside of the head of an addict, to see the world as he saw it.

I’d definitely recommend this book for an older YA reader. It deals with some pretty heavy duty topics. Nic doesn’t hold back talking about the realities of being an addict – it’s not pretty.

While the writing wasn’t amazing, one thing that I did really enjoy about it was that Nic’s voice really came through loud and clear. Some parts almost felt like a conversation between him and I. It felt very genuine and real.

Although I haven’t read his previous memoir, Tweak, also about addiction, or his father’s book about Nic’s journey, Beautiful Boy, I really did enjoy reading We All Fall Down. So if you’re wondering if you need to read either of those ones first, I would say no (cause I didn’t, and I felt like I understood what was happening). But now that I’ve read We All Fall Down, I’m kind of interested in the first part of Nic’s story.

If you’re looking for a book about addiction, from an addict’s perspective, I would definitely recommend We All Fall Down.

Image: goodreads.com

Disclosure: I received this book from the publisher for review.

Leave a Reply

