The Julian Game by Adele Griffin

Published By: Putnam Juvenile

Year of Publication: August 26, 2010

Categories:Contemporary, Fiction, Young Adult

Pages: 200

Summary (from goodreads.com): All new girl Raye Archer wants is a way into the in crowd, so when ice-queen Ella Parker picks her to get back at her ex, the gorgeous Julian Kilgarry, Raye is more than game. Even if it means creating a fake Facebook identity so she can learn enough about Julian to sabotage him. It’s a fun and dangerous thrill at first, but Raye hadn’t counted on falling for Julian herself and igniting Ella’s rage. As Raye works to reconcile the temptress Elizabeth with her real-life self, Ella serves up her own revenge, creating an online smear campaign of nasty rumors and trashy photographs. Suddenly notorious, Raye has to find a way out of the web of deceit that she’s helped to build, and back to the relationships that matter. Adele Griffin’s riveting novel explores the issues of generation Facebook: the desire to be someone else, real versus online friends, and the pitfalls and fallouts of posting your personal life online for all the world to judge.

Review: This is the first book I’ve ever read about cyber bullying, and I have to say that I wasn’t disappointed.

I graduated high school in 2001, so Facebook wasn’t around back then. Neither was Twitter. I do remember using ICQ a lot though (haha, it makes me laugh even thinking about how simple ICQ was back then, compared to what’s available now). Even with ICQ though, I never hear about anyone being cyber bullied at my school. I think it was such a new and novel technology back then that we (or at least I) didn’t even think about doing anything like that with it, I just wanted to talk to my friends. But it’s amazing how things have changed in ten years.

Anyways, on to the review . . .

I thought Raye Archer was a great character. Several times during my childhood I moved and had to change schools, so I totally understand how hard it is to be the “new girl”, wanting desperately to fit in. It’s a tough spot to be in. Really tough. So I get why she’d want to do what she did. And once she started it, she was so wrapped up in it, it was hard to stop.

Ella was a great villian. She wasn’t just mean, she was really mean. She was willing to do anything to get what she wanted.

While it would have been really easy for Adele Griffin to wrap things up easily at the end, she didn’t – she ended it how it would have happened in real life. It was messy, things didn’t turn out how it “should” have for certain characters, but that’s what happens in life. People don’t always get what they deserve, whether that’s good or bad.

So if you’re looking for a quick read with some great characters, this is definitely the book for you.

Image: goodreads.com

Disclosure: I got this book from the library.

6 thoughts on “The Julian Game by Adele Griffin

  1. Wow, this sounds fantastic – have just finished Hilary Freeman’s Don’t Ask, also about a girl creating a fake social network profile, and definitely up for another one so will check it out.

  2. Hmmm. Not a fan of the cover – and maybe I’m shallow, but that’s always a big deal for me – but your review has convinced me to check this out! Facebook’s been around longer than I’ve been a teenager so the premise is pretty relevant for me. =)

  3. I like that, how the characters good or bad don’t get their just desserts, because that is totally what happens in real life. Facebook for me started my senior year of high school, but at the time you needed a specific college email address to be on facebook…. those were the days.

    Anyways, The Julian Game sounds right up my alley, great review!

  4. ICQ! All I can remember are the letters! I can’t remember what it looked like or if I even used it that often! Weird. Anyway, I liked this one too – felt like there were several aspects of the story and characters that I haven’t seen done before – felt surprisingly fresh.

  5. Pingback: The Month in Review: April 2011 « Geeky Reads Blog

Leave a Reply

