Nighshade by Andrea Cremer

Published By: Philomel

Year of Publication: October 19, 2010

Categories:YA, Urban Paranormal, Werewolf.

Pages: 452

Summary (from goodreads.com): Calla Tor has always known her destiny: After graduating from the Mountain School, she’ll be the mate of sexy alpha wolf Ren Laroche and fight with him, side by side, ruling their pack and guarding sacred sites for the Keepers. But when she violates her masters’ laws by saving a beautiful human boy out for a hike, Calla begins to question her fate, her existence, and the very essence of the world she has known. By following her heart, she might lose everything— including her own life. Is forbidden love worth the ultimate sacrifice?

Review: If you haven’t read this book yet, you have to!

Nightshade has gotten quite a few comparisons to the Twilight series, though I liked it a lot more than Twilight. Yes, there is a love triangle and werewolves, but that’s where the comparisons end for me. I thought the writing and plot lines were better than Twilight.

At first I was a little confused about the different groups of people – Keepers, Guardians, and Searchers, but before long I had it figured out. Don’t let this confusion keep you from reading the rest of the book! It gets easier to understand, and oh so good the further you read.

I definitely liked Shay and Calla together better than Ren and Calla at the beginning of the book. I’m not totally sure why though. I can’t deny that there was definitely chemistry between Ren and Calla, but it just didn’t feel totally right. Shay and Calla just felt right. However as I continued reading Ren managed to grow on me. So now I’m torn, I don’t know who I want Calla to end up with.

I loved the actual book. The cover is beautiful. Calla Lillies are one of my favorite flowers – they’re absolutely gorgeous. Each chapter started with a black page with a picture of the moon on it. Each chapter’s moon was a little fuller than the one before. Also each chapter had one of four symbols – earth, air, fire, or water. I’m hoping these symbols are explained more in the next two books, because I think there’s more to them than was explained in Nightshade. So not only was it fun to read, it was also a beautiful book to read.

If you’re in need of something to read and you loved Twilight, I would definitely recommend Nightshade.

Connect with the Author:

Twitter

Website

Image: goodreads.com

Disclosure: I got this book from the library.

4 thoughts on “Nighshade by Andrea Cremer

  1. Great review, I loooooved Nightshade and thought it was amazing. I don’t know why anyone would compare it to Twilight, I thought it was totally different. I agree about Shay and Calla, I loved Shay so much more than Ren. =)

  2. Pingback: The Month in Review: February 2011 « Geeky Reads Blog

  3. Pingback: Book Blogger Hop (11) « Geeky Reads Blog

  4. Pingback: Armchair BEA 2011 Best of 2011 « Geeky Reads Blog

Leave a Reply

