The Duff by Kody Keplinger

Published by: Little Brown/Poppy

Year of Publication: September 7, 2010

Categories: Contemporary, YA

Pages: 288

Summary (from Goodreads):

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “the Duff,” she throws her Coke in his face.

But things aren’t so great at home right now, and Bianca is desperate for a distraction. She ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.

Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.

Review: I first heard about this book on Youtube from the YA Rebels. I really like hearing the ‘behind the scenes’ stuff that these YA authors talk about. Plus, they have some pretty creative videos, it’s great.

Since I’d been looking forward to reading this book for so long, my expectations were pretty high. High enough that it was inevitable that I would be at least a little disappointed, which is exactly how I felt after I finished reading it.

I found Bianca and her relationship with Wesley hard to relate to. I found her to be a pretty angry person – and I totally get that, I was a pretty self-destructive teenager cause I was angry too – but I just didn’t feel connected to her. I’m not sure what it was. I thought the thing she had going on with Wesley felt kind of unrealistic to me. Maybe it’s because I didn’t feel like I could relate to her or what, but I just didn’t like the two of them together. It didn’t sit right with me.

One of my favorite things about the novel though was Bianca’s friendships. Even though Bianca, Casey, and Jessica had different personalities and came from different families, they all liked each other for who they were. They didn’t have to hide parts of themselves from the others. I really liked that. They were there for each other when they needed it, no questions asked.

The writing was great too. I found it easy to understand, and there was always something happening, so there weren’t any boring parts. It was descriptive without being over the top either. I could picture things as they happened in my head.

Image: goodreads.com

Disclosure: I borrowed this book from the library.

Leave a Reply

