Things I Know About Love by Kate Le Vann

Published by: Egmont

Year of Publication:June 22, 2010

Categories: Contemporary, YA

Pages: 160

Summary (from Goodreads): Livia’s experience of love has been disappointing to say the least. But all that is about to change. After years of illness, she’s off to spend the summer with her brother in America. She’s making up for lost time, and she’s writing it all down in her private blog. America is everything she ever dreamed of – and then she meets Adam. Can Livia put the past behind her and risk falling in love again?

Review: This book was a great read! I immediately fell in love with Livia from the moment I met her. She’s a main character that I think most teen girls can relate to at least a little bit. Shes goes through many of the typical (and not so typical) things that lots of girls do, without it feeling boring or ‘already done’. Livia’s brother was another great character as well. I really liked him. It was great to see two siblings have such a great relationship.

Much of the book is told from blog posts, which I thought was a great way to get to know about where Livia’s head was at. It gave insight about what she was thinking.

I won’t give anything away, other to say that I totally didn’t see the ending coming, though from reading some of the reviews on Goodreads I seem to be in the minority. I totally and completely shocked when it happened. After I finished reading it I just sat there for 10 or 15 minutes thinking about how the book had ended (in a good way – I was still trying to take it in). I haven’t had to do that with a book for awhile now. I like it when a book hits me like that.

If you’re looking for a really good, quick read, this is definitely the book for you.

Image: goodreads.com

Disclosure: I borrowed this book from the library.

One thought on “Things I Know About Love by Kate Le Vann

  1. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Reading Picks « Geeky Reads Blog

Leave a Reply

