What I Learned From Being A Cheerleader by Adrianne Ambrose

Published by: Belle Books

Year of Publication: August 24, 2010

Categories: Middle Grade

Pages: 202

Summary (from Goodreads): Eleven-year-old Elaine Rewitzer is funny, smart and happy being a geek, but when she wins a spot on the Cross Creek Middle School Buccaneers cheerleading squad, she gets totally into her new life. Her mega-brain best friend Bethany warns that Elaine will just become “part of the herd,” and her best geek-guy-pal, Tim, (who‛s struggling with nose polyps) feels forgotten. Will Elaine survive the roller coaster of pre-teen cheerleader fame? Will she win the heart of the cutest boy on the basketball team? Will she confess her “uncool” love for comic books? Will she lose Bethany and Tim‛s friendship for-evah? AND WHEN WILL SHE GET HER POM POMS???

Review: I really enjoyed reading this book, it was truly great. I think most of the credit has to go to Elaine, because she’s such a great character that I fell in love with instantly.

It’s in the format of Elaine’s diary, which I thought was perfect for this story. You really got a sense of what Elaine was like from the way she described people and events. It was great to have her point of view.

I saw a lot of Elaine in myself when I was 11 or 12. I wanted to be popular, yet I liked hanging out with my “nerdy” friends, cause well, they were like me, nerdy. While I liked them, I still wanted to be like the popular girls in my class. I thought she was a very honest character – she felt all the same things I think I would have felt in her situation when things happened (whether they were positive or negative). There was no sugarcoating the consequences when she made a bad decision. I also found her to be strong and gutsy when she had to be. I think that’s a great thing to have in a character that tweens will read about.

Being a tween is such a hard age. You’re trying to figure yourself out, right at the time when you’re also trying to juggle school, friends, popularity, family, just discovering girlfriends/boyfriends – there’s a lot going on! It’s tough to be true to yourself and authentic to who you are when all you want is to fit in with everyone else and not stick out. I thought this book gives the reader a great look into Elaine’s journey to try to figure that out for herself.

I would recommend this book in a heartbeat to any tween. It has a great message while at the same time being funny and honest.

Image: goodreads.com

Disclosure: I got this book from the publisher for review.

One thought on “What I Learned From Being A Cheerleader by Adrianne Ambrose

Leave a Reply

