The Vampire Diaries: The Struggle by L J Smith

Published by: HarperTeen

Year of Publication: 1991

Categories: YA, Vampire

Pages: 272

Summary (from Goodreads): In this second volume in the popular series, Damon is determined to make pretty Elena Gilbert his queen of darkness. He would even kill his own brother to possess her. But Stefan, desperate for the power to destroy Damon, succumbs to his unquenchable thirst for human blood.

Review: To be honest I wasn’t thrilled with this book. I think the main reason is Elena.

It seems to be that every time Elena is put in a difficult situation, she somehow manages to make the worse possible decision. You might think I’m overdoing it, but that’s REALLY what happens. I don’t understand how so many bad decisions can come from one person!

Although there was more action in this book than the first one, I found the plot slow at times. I would read another chapter, hoping that something exciting would happen.

One character that I’m really looking forward to learning more about is Bonnie. I think she’ll have bigger parts in the next novels, and I’m really looking forward to that. I want to know what she’ll be able to do with her powers.

Although I wasn’t particularly impressed with this book, I will continue to read the series. In fact I’m planning a trip to the library on Friday to pick up The Fury, the third book in the series.

Image: goodreads.com

Disclosure: I got this book from the library.

One thought on “The Vampire Diaries: The Struggle by L J Smith

  1. I agree with you totally. Out of the series that I’ve read so far this was my 2nd least favorite of the books. The next to last one was a hard read and I haven’t started the last one yet, I’m hoping it is better but procrastinating the start lol

Leave a Reply

