Definitely Dead by Charlaine Harris

Published by: Penguin

Year of Publication: 2006

Categories: Mystery, Vampire

Pages: 324

Summary (from Goodreads): As a person with so few living relatives, supernaturally gifted Louisiana cocktail waitress Sookie Stackhouse really hated to lose one. But she never thought it would be her cousin Hadley, a consort of the Vampire Queen of New Orleans. Since Hadley was a vampire, she was already dead – weird! And now, as unexpected heir to Hadley’s estate, Sookie discovers that someone doesn’t want her snooping around, going through Hadley’s possessions and her past. But why? And who?

Review: I have to start off this review by saying that I was a little confused by this book. Up until now I had always found that the books in this series made practical sense – one book built on another, things didn’t just suddenly appear out of nowhere – up til this book I had been happy with the overall plot line.

But then I opened up this book and got totally confused. I thought I had mistakenly skipped a book, but I double checked on Goodreads half way through Definitely Dead, and sure enough, I had read Dead As A Doornail, book #5. I felt like the plot of this book was pushed forward and some essential parts to the plot got left out.

Other than the plot problems though, I enjoyed reading it. Things definitely got interesting surrounding the relationship between Sookie and Bill. I totally didn’t see it coming (I don’t think Sookie did either), and it threw me for a loop. I’m still not quite sure if I believe it. I feel like I want to get Bill’s side of the story before I admit what happened.

I definitely liked getting to know more about Quinn as well. Actually there were a lot of good characters in this book that I hadn’t noticed much in the other books up to now. Considering how the next book is about the vampire summit, I think more of these characters will have more to do with the story than those in Bon Temps, which will be a nice change of pace I think.

All in all, I think this has been my least favorite Sookie Stackhouse book so far, but I still can’t wait to get All Together Dead from the library.

Image: goodreads.com

Disclosure: I got this book from the library.

One thought on “Definitely Dead by Charlaine Harris

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more. This was definitely my least favorite in the series, although it was still nice to spend time with the characters I’d been missing. The book had a v-e-r-y slow start, didn’t become engaging until about 2/3 of the way through. I still love Charlaine Harris and Sookie. No harm done.

Leave a Reply

