The Vampire Diaries: The Awakening by L J Smith

Published by: HarperTeen

Year of Publication: 1991

Categories: YA, Vampire

Pages: 272

Summary (from Goodreads): Elena Gilbert is a pretty, popular teen who was orphaned when her parents were killed in an accident. Despite the tragedy, her life has always been normal and wholesome. Until the beginning of the school year, when two new vampire brothers show up to shake the peaceful universe at Robert E. Lee High.

Review: I had high expectations when I started this book. I had become hooked on the TV show, and wanted to read the books behind it.

Unfortunately those high expectations weren’t realized. The TV show is actually a lot more different than the books than I was expecting. I know things get changed when it goes from the page to the screen, but I thought there would be more similarities than there were. I’m sure that if I had read the books before I had seen the show, I would like the books a lot more.

One thing that I really liked about the book was that I  thought it explained Elana’s relationship with Caroline a lot better than on the TV show. I never really understood the whole “frenemy” thing, but I think it makes sense for Elana and Caroline.

I enjoyed the glimpses into the past with Stefan, Damon, and Katherine. It provided just enough background to really understand the characters, without being too much.

I thought The Awakening had great pacing, there was always something interesting happening, and at times I found it hard to put down.I wanted to keep reading to find out what would happen to the characters. I thought the book ended in a good place too. I want to know what will happen to Elana.

I will definitely be reading the next book in the series, The Struggle.

Image: goodreads.com

Disclosure: I got this book from the library.

Leave a Reply

