The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

Published By: Delacorte

Year of Publication: 2009

Categories: YA, Zombies

Pages: 310

Summary (from goodreads.com):

The Sisterhood always knows best.
The Guardians will protect and serve.
The Unconsecrated will never relent.
And you must always mind the fence that surrounds the village; the fence that protects the village from the Forest of Hands and Teeth.

But, slowly, Mary’s truths are failing her. She’s learning things she never wanted to know about the Sisterhood and its secrets, and the Guardians and their power, and about the Unconsecrated and their relentlessness. When the fence is breached and her world is thrown into chaos, she must choose between her village and her future-between the one she loves and the one who loves her.

And she must face the truth about the Forest of Hands and Teeth. Could there be life outside a world surrounded in so much death?

Review: I have to start off this review by admitting that I’m not big on zombies. I’m not sure what it is, but they’re just not for me. I don’t like them in books or movies. I just don’t have a connection to them. So my expectations weren’t very high for this book when I started reading it.

However, I do like books set during the Victorian era, and the 18th and early 19th century. There’s something about how prim and proper people appeared to be that appeals to me. Although this book takes place well after both those time periods, it had the same feel to it. That’s why I had put the book on hold and was interested in reading it.

Even though there were zombies in it, I was impressed with how much I liked this book. The plot kept me interested, and I found myself not wanting to put it down. I just had to know what was going to happen next.

There were a couple heartbreaking deaths in the book for Mary, and I found that with each death I identified more and more with Mary. It felt like everything bad was always happening to her, but she wouldn’t give up, she kept moving forward.

I thought the ending was great. While I definitely don’t want to give anything away to those who haven’t read it yet, all I’ll say is that  I thought Mary made the right decision. I think the whole book was leading to that decision, and really it was the only one she could have made that would have made sense with her character. It was definitely a hard one to make, but it was 100% right for Mary.

I will definitely be reading the second book in this series, The Dead Tossed Waves.

Image: goodreads.com

Disclosure: I got this book from the library.

2 thoughts on “The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

  1. Pingback: The Month in Review: September 2010 « Geeky Reads Blog

  2. Pingback: The Dead Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan « Geeky Reads Blog

Leave a Reply

