The Summoning by Kelly Armstrong

Published By: Harper Teen

Year of Publication: 2008

Categories: Urban Paranormal

Pages: 390

Summary (Goodreads): After years of frequent moves following her mother’s death, Chloe Saunders’s life is finally settling down. She is attending art school, pursuing her dreams of becoming a director, making friends, meeting boys. Her biggest concern is that she’s not developing as fast as her friends are. But when puberty does hit, it brings more than hormone surges. Chloe starts seeing ghosts–everywhere, demanding her attention. After she suffers a breakdown, her devoted aunt Lauren gets her into a highly recommended group home.

At first, Lyle House seems a pretty okay place, except for Chloe’s small problem of fearing she might be facing a lifetime of mental illness. But as she gradually gets to know the other kids at the home–charming Simon and his ominous, unsmiling brother Derek, obnoxious Tori, and Rae, who has a “thing” for fire–Chloe begins to realize that there is something that binds them all together, and it isn’t your usual “problem kid” behaviour. And together they discover that Lyle House is not your usual group home either…

Review: I have to admit that I was a bit skeptical about this book. I had it on hold for a couple months before I finally got it from the library. In that time I kind of forgot what it was about. When I sat down to start reading it my expectations weren’t very high. Boy was I surprised by how much I enjoyed it!

Chloe is a great character. She’s smart, thoughtful, and loyal to her friends. She’s the kind of person I’d like to be friends with. She doesn’t wait around for other people do make things happen, she takes things into her own hands. I like that.

The other character that I really liked was Derek. It took me awhile to really like him, kind of like Chloe, but I definitely like him more than any other character other than Chloe. On the other hand, Rae really bugs me. Maybe that’ll change when her powers (if she has them) appear, but right now she seems like she’s going to mess things up for everything else. She always seems to be in the way.

I thought the pacing was great. There were a couple spots where I didn’t want to put it down, I had to know what was going to happen next.

I can’t wait to read the next book in the series, The Awakening. I’m planning to go to the library this morning to get it – that’s how much I want to read it. I want to find out what happens to Chloe, Derek, Simon, and maybe even Rae.

If you’re interested in The Awakening, or any other of Kelley Armstrong’s books, check out her site, www.kelleyarmstrong.com.

Disclosure: I borrowed this book from the library.

Image: Goodreads

2 thoughts on “The Summoning by Kelly Armstrong

  1. I really enjoyed this one, too. I bought the paperback when it was first released, and like you I was skeptical. It turned out to be a fun, spooky read. Hope you enjoy the rest of the series, too.

  2. Pingback: The Month in Review: August 2010 « Geeky Reads Blog

Leave a Reply

