Sleepless by Cyn Balog

Published By: Delacorte Press

Year of Publication: July 13, 2010

Categories: Fantasy

Pages: 224

Summary (Goodreads): Eron De Marchelle isn’t supposed to feel a connection. He is a Sandman, a supernatural being whose purpose is to seduce human charges to sleep. While he can communicate with his charges in their dreams, he isn’t encouraged to–after all, getting too involved in one human’s life would prevent him helping his other charges get their needed rest.

But he can’t deny that he feels something for Julia. Julia, with her fiery red hair and her sad dreams. Just weeks ago, her boyfriend died in a car accident, and Eron can tell that she feels more alone than ever. Eron was human once too, many years ago, and he remembers how it felt to lose the one he loved. Eron has always felt protective of Julia . . . but now, when she seems to need him more than ever, he can’t seem to reach her . . .

Sandmen are forbidden from communicating with humans outside their dreams. But will Eron be willing to risk everything for a chance to be with the person he loves?

Review: With all the vampire and werewolf books (as much as I really like reading them), it’s always nice to have a change once in awhile. That change was Sleepless. It still has the kind of paranormal/fantasy feel to it while being on a totally different topic than anything I’ve ever read before.

First off, I thought most of the characters were great. I really liked Julia and Eron. I thought they were both believable and realistic, and I immediately liked both of them. I thought the author did a great job showing how different Eron was, because he lived during the early 1900’s, while at the same time not letting that being the only notable thing about him. (Hopefully that last sentence actually made sense outside of my head.)

The two characters that I didn’t like were Griffin and Chimere. I thought Griffin was incredibly self-absorbed. He thought the world revolved around him, and I got tired of it. I don’t want to give the ending away for my reasons about why I didn’t like Chimere, but I”m sure you’ll know what I mean if you’ve read it.

Usually I like reading books that I already know the rules to – vampires, werewolves, fairies – that sort of thing. I usually shy away from typical fantasy because I find it hard to get into the brand new world that the author is trying to get me to see. However I didn’t have that problem with this book. Even though I’d never read anything about sandmen before, and there’s no hard and fast rules about them, I still really enjoyed it. I attribute that to the author’s writing abilities.

If you’re interested in knowing more about Sleepless or the author, check out Cyn Balog’s site at cynbalog.com.

Disclosure: I borrowed this book from the library.

Image: Goodreads

One thought on “Sleepless by Cyn Balog

  1. Pingback: The Month in Review: August 2010 « Geeky Reads Blog

Leave a Reply

