In My Mailbox (19)

Thanks to Kristi at The Story Siren and Alea at Pop Culture Junkie for In My Mailbox. All links go to goodreads.com. Summaries are from goodreads.com.

The Truth About Delilah Blue by Tish Cohen

Delilah Blue has always been a bit of an outsider, ever since she moved from Toronto to Los Angeles when she was eight. Twenty now and desperate to become an artist like her long-lost mother but unable to pay for classes, Delilah does something nearly unthinkable. She takes a job as an art model, peeling off her clothes for a classroom full of students so she can learn from the professors as the students draw parts she’d much rather keep under wraps.

Her only real companion in life is her father, a dapper, single salesman. But as he’s entered his mid-50s, his personality seems to be changing. He forgets simple tasks and is often disoriented, signs that he is going through early-onset Alzheimer’s. The disease presents just as Delilah’s long-estranged mother, who Delilah always believed abandoned the family, re-enters the scene with a young daughter in tow and reveals a secret about the past that will permanently change their lives. Delilah must decide if her mother is the selfish woman she’s always assumed left her behind or whether somewhere deep inside her father’s memory is the truth behind the family’s separation.

Told with wit and poignancy, The Truth About Delilah Blue showcases Tish Cohen’s wonderfully addictive storytelling and characters you won’t soon forget.

What I Learned From Being A Cheerleader by Adrianne Ambrose

Eleven-year-old Elaine Rewitzer is funny, smart and happy being a geek, but when she wins a spot on the Cross Creek Middle School Buccaneers cheerleading squad, she gets totally into her new life. Her mega-brain best friend Bethany warns that Elaine will just become “part of the herd,” and her best geek-guy-pal, Tim, (who‛s struggling with nose polyps) feels forgotten. Will Elaine survive the roller coaster of pre-teen cheerleader fame? Will she win the heart of the cutest boy on the basketball team? Will she confess her “uncool” love for comic books? Will she lose Bethany and Tim‛s friendship for-evah? AND WHEN WILL SHE GET HER POM POMS???

Haint Misbahavin by Maureen Hardegree

The start of a fun middle-grade series, The Ghost Handlers, follows Heather Tildy, an Atlanta teen with a troublesome habit of attracting ghosts. Middle-child Heather has enough to worry about with sisters, boys and school. Now that a trouble-making girl from the 1800’s is poking her nose in Heather’s business, her life has taken a supernatural turn for the worse! Before her life can get better, she has to figure out how to help the ghost move on.

Images: Goodreads

10 thoughts on “In My Mailbox (19)

  1. Great mailbox! I’ll have to add Haint Misbehaving and What I Learned from Being a Cheerleader to my next school book order when they become available. I think my middle graders will like them. My mailboxes are here and here. Happy reading!

  2. Sounds like three fun books to read. I like the description of What I Learned From Being A Cheerleader by Adrianne Ambrose.. want to know more about that one. Enjoy the books you got.

  3. Love the cover for Haint Misbahavin’. The concept of attracting ghost is interesting so I’ll take a peak at Goodreads before running in on my list.

    Have a great reading week and enjoy the books 🙂

  4. Delilah Blue! Thanks for visiting my IMM. I read the first chapter of The Poison Diaries (I do that when I receive most books, to tease myself) and it was really good! Definitely worth looking into. 😉 I was really happy to win this one! Plus, it’s part of a new series, which is always fun.

    Happy reading!

  5. Hello! Thanks for mentioning my book, What I Learned From Being a Cheerleader. Just writing to say that it is currently available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and directly from the publisher at Belle Bridge Books.

    I’m looking forward to your review.

    Adrianne

Leave a Reply

