Dead As A Doornail by Charlaine Harris

Published By: Ace

Year of Publication: 2005

Categories: Vampire, Mystery

Pages: 295

Summary (from goodreads.com): Sookie Stackhouse is a cocktail waitress in small-town Louisiana. She’s pretty and well-mannered and has only a few close friends – which isn’t surprising, since not many people can appreciate Sookie’s abilities as a mind reader. It’s not a quality that has the guys beating down her door – unless they’re vampires, werewolves, or other supernatural beings. And now some of them aren’t just friendly – they’re family.” “When Sookie sees her brother Jason’s eyes start to change, she knows he’s about to turn into a werepanther for the first time – a transformation he embraces more readily than most shapeshifters she’s known. But her concern for her brother becomes cold fear when a sniper sets his deadly sights on the local changeling population – and Jason’s new panther brethren suspect he may be the shooter.” Now, Sookie has until the next full moon to find out who’s behind the attacks – unless the killer decides to find her first.

Review: For some reason this book me almost two weeks to finish. I think it was because right after I started it I went to a friend’s house to look after their dogs while they were on vacation, so I had to fit all the dog related stuff into my schedule, and my reading time suffered because of it.

I really liked it though. I thought it was great that a new vampire that was introduced in this book, Charles Twining, was a pirate before he was ‘born’ as a vampire. I somehow found that amazing funny and interesting. I mean, really, that would be pretty cool to meet a real pirate. He even had an eye patch. I can’t be the only that finds it amusing, right?

I was a little disappointed that there was so little mention of Bill, though I did find one of the parts when he made an appearance really touching. If you’ve read it, you’ll know what part I’m talking about, if you haven’t, I don’t want to give anything away.

The werewolf pack from Shreveport has to elect a new pack leader. I was so interested in how the werewolf politics were discussed, and how they do things. I find it fascinating, I’m not sure why. It’s like getting an inside look on a whole different society.

Sookie runs into some pretty bad luck in this book, but she always manages to make the best of it. The more I read about her, the more I like her. She’s so different from a lot of the other female characters in vampire novels. She’s strong, independent, stubborn, and doesn’t like to depend on anyone else for what she needs. I like it.

Disclosure: I borrowed this book from the library.

Image: Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Dead As A Doornail by Charlaine Harris

  1. As I’ve read through this series and I agree, the Sookie in the books is truly and independent thinker and doesn’t let anyone just run over her!

  2. Pingback: The Month in Review: August 2010 « Geeky Reads Blog

Leave a Reply

