The Dark Divine by Bree Despain

Published By: Egmont USA

Year of Publication: 2010

Categories: YA

Pages: 372

Summary (from goodreads.com): Grace Divine—daughter of the local pastor—always knew something terrible happened the night Daniel Kalbi disappearedand her brother Jude came home covered in his own blood.

Now that Daniel’s returned, Grace must choose between her growing attraction to him and her loyalty to her brother.

As Grace gets closer to Daniel, she learns the truth about that mysterious night and how to save the ones she loves, but it might cost her the one thing she cherishes most: her soul.

Review: What can I say other than I really enjoyed reading this book.

I thought the pacing was great. There was always something happening and I didn’t find myself being bored anywhere in this book.

I thought the characters were great too. I really liked Grace. She seemed like she had a good head on her shoulders. I also liked that she was almost a goody two shoes. In YA literature I think it’s easy to come up with characters who get themselves in trouble and don’t care about anyone but themselves – some of the stereotypes of teens. But I found it refreshing to read about a character who has a good relationship with her family, volunteers, and goes to church.

The way that Daniel was introduced to the reader was great too. You didn’t find out exactly what happened the night Daniel and Jude were together at the church until the very end.

The next book in the series, The Lost Saint sounds pretty good, and after liking The Dark Divine so much, I will definitely be reading it. Unfortunately I have to wait til December 28, 2010. Check it out on Goodreads in the meantime.

Image: goodreads.com

Disclosure: I got this book from the library.

2 thoughts on “The Dark Divine by Bree Despain

  1. Pingback: The Month in Review: July 2010 « Geeky Reads Blog

  2. Pingback: Second Time Sunday (26) « Geeky Reads Blog

Leave a Reply

