Growing TBR

I’m constantly adding books to my TBR list.  I thought it would be fun to add a (maybe weekly?) feature on my blog about the books that I’ve added. I don’t know, maybe I’m the only one geeky enough out to have a list of books that I want to read.

Book: The Duff by Kody Keplinger

From: I read the review by April at Good Books and Good Wine.

Summary (from goodreads.com): Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “Duffy,” she throws her Coke in his face.

But things aren’t so great at home right now. Desperate for a distraction, Bianca ends up kissing Wesley. And likes it. Eager for escape, she throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with Wesley.

Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out that Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.

Book: Impulse by Ellen Hopkins

From: I was reading an old post about Banned Book Week over at Bookworming in in the 21st Century.

Summary (from goodreads.com): Three teens who have attempted suicide meet in a psychiatric hospital, battle their demons, and begin to heal.

The handsome son of wealthy parents, Connor has everything anyone could want-except his family’s love and affection. Jailed for years after killing his mother’s child-molesting boyfriend, Tony is confused about his sexuality. Manic-depressive Vanessa cuts herself. All three stories intertwine in a brutally honest story about pain and resilience.

Book: Secrets of my Hollywood Life by Jen Calonita

From: Karen’s IMM post.

Summary (from goodreads.com): What if? Your picture was taped inside teenage boys’ lockers across America, your closets were bursting with never-worn designer clothing, and the tabloids constantly asked whether you were losing your “good girl” status?

It’s a glamorous life, but 16-year-old Kaitlin Burke, co-star of one of the hottest shows on TV, is exhausted from the pressures of her fame. So she decides to spend two months undercover as an ordinary high school student. But could it be that real life high school is just as harsh as cutthroat Hollywood??

Juicy Hollywood secrets appear throughout. Combining the vicarious star-studded glamour of the New York Times bestselling A-List with the innocence of The Princess Diaries, this is an engrossing look behind the velvet ropes of stardom.

What do you think? Would you be interested in hearing about my additions to my TBR list every week? Leave me a comment and let me know.

2 thoughts on “Growing TBR

  1. I keep a little journal of titles I would like to read-a physical TBR list, if you will. I am constantly adding to it.
    I’ve read Secrets of a Hollywood Life. It’s cute and fun. I liked it. I think you have a good feature going here.

  2. I LOVED Impulse!!! I’ve only read two Ellen Hopkins books and my favorite is Burned actually but Impulse was also really really good. I see a pattern in her books now so I’m a bit hesitant to keep reading but darn it I just know I’m going to read everything that lady writes 🙂 I also added Duff recently, I”m so very curious about it.

    And no madam don’t worry, you’re not the only geeky one with a list hehe actually I also have a similar feature on my blog I call it
    “Dandy Books” though.

    Hope you get your hands on those soon!

Leave a Reply

