The Witching Hour by Elizabeth Laird

Published by: Macmillan Children’s Books

Year of Publication: 2009

Categories: YA, Historical Fiction

Pages: 432

Summary (from goodreads.com): In seventeenth-century Scotland, everyone knows the devil is real. Everyone knows that witches exist. Everyone knows that saying the wrong thing can get you hanged…When fourteen-year-old Maggie’s grandmother is accused of witchcraft, Maggie has to run for her life. With English soldiers on the march, nowhere is safe – certainly not Ladymuir, where her uncle is determined to defy the king. And wherever Maggie goes, disaster follows…A gripping historical novel about a young girl’s journey through the Killing Time.

Review:

I really enjoyed this book. Maggie was a really likable character that I was rooting for throughout the whole book – I wanted things to work out for her.

I found the setting pretty intriguing. I love learning about what it was like in different parts of the world hundreds of years ago – it’s just so different from what I’m used to in my every day life. Elizabeth Laird was able to build the setting of Scotland in the 1800’s so well that whenever I opened the book to start reading I was instantly transported back to that time.

I’m glad with how the book ended. I thought Maggie stayed true to herself. I’m so glad that the author wrote it that way, when there could have been at least one way that would have tied things up nicely, but wouldn’t have been what Maggie should have done.

I’ll definitely be on the look out for other books by Elizabeth Laird.

Disclosure: I borrowed this book from the library.

Image: goodreads.com

2 thoughts on “The Witching Hour by Elizabeth Laird

  1. Pingback: The Month In Review: May 2010 « Geeky Reads Blog

  2. Pingback: Second Time Sunday (13) « Geeky Reads Blog

Leave a Reply

