Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

Published by: Viking Juvenile

Year of Publication: 2009

Pages: 278

Summary (from goodreads.com): Eighteen-year-old Lia comes to terms with her best friend’s death from bulimia as she struggles with anorexia.

Review: I really enjoyed reading this book.While it was different from what I was expecting it to be, I still liked it. I had heard a lot about this book on blogs, so I was pretty excited about reading it.

Laurie Halse Anderson gave an authentic voice to someone who is dealing with an eating disorder. I think a lot of times it’s easy to get stuck in stereotypes when dealing with mental illness, but I thought Lia’s character was very authentic – no stereotypes here.

I also enjoyed the other characters as well – Lia’s mom and dad, stepmom, and most of all her little sister Emma. It was interesting to see her illness reflected in each person, to see how it effected them all differently. I felt myself drawn to the relationship between Lia and Emma.

I thought the ending was great. While the all the threads weren’t tied up perfectly, you knew the direction Lia was headed in. I thought that if things were tied up too nicely it wouldn’t be very realistic, so I really like the way it was left.

One thing that I didn’t like was the author’s writing style. Things were crossed out, a technique that I think added to the reader’s understanding Lia better, but made it seem kind of disjointed to me. I’m not sure if it’s just this book that the author uses that with, or with her other ones too.

All in all I would recommend this book. I’m definitely going to be reading another book by Laurie Halse Anderson.

Disclosure: I borrowed this book from the library.

Image: goodreads.com

2 thoughts on “Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

  1. Pingback: The Month In Review: May 2010 « Geeky Reads Blog

  2. Pingback: Second Time Sunday (12) « Geeky Reads Blog

Leave a Reply

