The Unwritten Rule by Elizabeth Scott

Summary from Goodreads:

Everyone knows the unwritten rule: You don’t like your best friend’s boyfriend.

Sarah has had a crush on Ryan for years. He’s easy to talk to, supersmart, and totally gets her. Lately it even seems like he’s paying extra attention to her. Everything would be perfect except for two things: Ryan is Brianna’s boyfriend, and Brianna is Sarah’s best friend.

Sarah forces herself to avoid Ryan and tries to convince herself not to like him. She feels so guilty for wanting him, and the last thing she wants is to hurt her best friend. But when she’s thrown together with Ryan one night, something happens. It’s wonderful…and awful.

Sarah is torn apart by guilt, but what she feels is nothing short of addiction, and she can’t stop herself from wanting more…

And onto my opinion about The Unwritten Rule:

I really really liked this book, as in it’s one of my favorites so far this year!

The writing was excellent,  clear and easy to follow. There was enough description to build the whole picture, but not too much to overwhelm the story. I almost couldn’t put it down, I had to know what was going to happen next.

Sarah and Ryan were both great characters, they had substance and were totally believable. I thought they were great for each other. Throughout the entire book I found myself rooting for Sarah – I wanted things to work out for her, and I wanted her and Ryan to become a couple. I didn’t enjoy Brianna however, I found her hard to like. I didn’t like the way she treated Sarah or Ryan. I don’t think having a crappy home situation is a reason to treat others the way she did.

I think just about everyone can relate to at least one character or relationship in this book, whether it’s the best friend who’s stuck in your BFF’s shadow, liking your friend’s boyfriend, or struggling with the breakdown of your parent’s marriage.

All in all I’d definitely recommend The Unwritten Rule if you haven’t read it yet. I will be reading other books by Elizabeth Scott as well.

Image: goodreads.com

Disclosure: I borrowed this book from the library.

2 thoughts on “The Unwritten Rule by Elizabeth Scott

  1. Pingback: Clean Away the Clutter Challenge Activity 6 « Geeky Reads Blog

  2. Pingback: Second Time Sunday (10) « Geeky Reads Blog

Leave a Reply

