Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

First off I have to apologize for the lack of posts over the last couple of weeks. My only excuse is that work has been crazy with trying to get everything planted, but I’m planning on having a couple reviews up this week.

Summary from Goodreads:

For years, Grace has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf—her wolf—is a chilling presence she can’t seem to live without. Meanwhile, Sam has lived two lives: In winter, the frozen woods, the protection of the pack, and the silent company of a fearless girl. In summer, a few precious months of being human … until the cold makes him shift back again.

Now, Grace meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away. It’s her wolf. It has to be. But as winter nears, Sam must fight to stay human–or risk losing himself, and Grace, forever

Shiver is a book that pulled me right in. I’m not sure what one thing it was, but I really liked this book right from the beginning.

I liked that Maggie put her own twist on the werewolf folklore while still making it believable. It wasn’t too different from the usual, but still different enough to make it unique to her characters and her story.

I found Grace and Sam to be very believable and likable characters. I thought they played off each other well. I’m not sure if  I would have liked it as much of either one of the characters had been different.

The writing was pretty good. It was definitely easy to read. I liked that each chapter was either from Grace or Sam’s perspective. The switching of the two kept it interesting.

The ending was left with an enormous cliffhanger – things weren’t explained at all, so I’ll definitely have to read the next one in the series, Linger.

Image: goodreads.com

Disclosure: I got this book from the library.

3 thoughts on “Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Reading Picks « Geeky Reads Blog

  2. Pingback: Second Time Sunday (9) « Geeky Reads Blog

Leave a Reply

