Need by Carrie Jones

Published by: Bloomsbury

Year of Publication: 2009

Categories: YA

Pages: 306

Summary (from goodreads.com): Zara White suspects there’s a freaky guy semi-stalking her. She’s also obsessed with phobias. And it’s true, she hasn’t exactly been herself since her stepfather died. But exiling her to shivery Maine to live with her grandmother? That seems a bit extreme. The move is supposed to help her stay sane…but Zara’s pretty sure her mom just can’t deal with her right now.

She couldn’t be more wrong. Turns out the semi-stalker is not a figment of Zara’s overactive imagination. In fact, he’s still following her, leaving behind an eerie trail of gold dust. There’s something not right – not human – in this sleepy Maine town, and all signs point to Zara.

In this creepy, compelling breakout novel, Carrie Jones delivers romance, suspense, and a creature you never thought you’d have to fear.

Review: I really enjoyed this book. It’s great to read a different take on some of the most popular fantasy species lately. I thought it was really original and a great refreshing take on them.

Right from the beginning I was drawn in. I wanted to find out who was the man that’s been following Zara from Charleston all the way to Maine? I wanted to know what would happen to Zara.

I liked Zara. She was a great character as well as being a very believable teenager. Nick was great as well, though I saw his surprise coming. I think they play each off each other well. I would have liked to get to know more about Zara’s mom. I think the next book will have more of her in it, but I wanted to know more about her in this one.

I thought Maine was a great setting for this book. I would totally picture the kind of place where this story would unfold. Carrie does a great job of setting the scene for the book.

One thing that I found lacking a bit was the writing. In some spots it seemed a bit forced.

I found myself not wanting to put it down, I wanted to know what would happen next, and what would happen to Zara. The result was that it only took me 24 hours to read – good thing I didn’t have to work yesterday! It was definitely a page turner.

Disclosure: I borrowed this book from the library.

Image: goodreads.com

One thought on “Need by Carrie Jones

Leave a Reply

