Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane

Published by: William Morrow & Company

Year of Publication: 2003

Categories: Adult Fiction, Mystery

Pages: 325

Summary (from goodreads.com): U.S. Marshal Teddy Daniels has come to Shutter Island, home of Ashecliffe Hospital for the Criminally Insane. Along with his partner, Chuck Aule, he sets out to find an escaped patient.

But nothing at Ashecliffe Hospital is what it seems. And neither is Teddy Daniels.

Is he there to find a missing patient? Or has he been sent to look into rumors of Ashecliffe’s radical approach to psychiatry? An approach that may include drug experimentation, hideous surgical trials, and lethal countermoves in the shadow war against Soviet brainwashing …

The closer Teddy and Chuck get to the truth, the more elusive it becomes, and the more they begin to believe that they may never leave Shutter Island.

Because someone is trying to drive them insane …

Review: I’m not a huge fan of mysteries/thrillers, but I do like to read them every once in awhile. I really enjoyed reading this one. I read most of this book in one day. Once I was a couple chapters in I couldn’t help but be sucked into the world of Shutter Island.

I really liked Teddy. I found him very realistic and easy to like. The back story about his wife was a great way to learn more about him and about his motivations for going to investigate what happens on Shutter Island. I found Aule a really interesting character as well – I wanted to know more and more about him as the novel went on.

Most of the time I don’t find the writing in thrillers or mysteries all that good. The plot is great, but the writing just lacks something to be desired. But I really liked Dennis’ writing. It kept me interesting as well as being easy to understand.

I loved the psychological aspect of the book, I think that’s actually made me want to read it in the first place. And I wasn’t disappointed once I got into it. Yes, there’s the typical ‘crazy people’ that you would expect, but there’s also characters with more of a story, which is what I like.

I’m still not sure how I felt about the ending. I definitely didn’t see it coming, and was trying to deny what was happening as it unfolded. I think part of it was because I liked Teddy so much, I didn’t want anything to happen to him. And the ending was so sad for him too.

Disclosure: I borrowed this book from the library.

Image: goodreads.com

2 thoughts on “Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane

  1. Pingback: Clean Away the Clutter Challenge Activity 6 « Geeky Reads Blog

  2. Pingback: Second Time Sunday (6) « Geeky Reads Blog

Leave a Reply

