Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Edit: There are spoilers in the comments, so if you haven’t read it yet you might not want to read them.

Every single time I read this I forget how much I liked it. That was especially true this time. I fell in love with the March family all over again.

Set in New England in the 1800’s, this is a must read for any female teen or adult. Even though it was first published in 1868, it’s still surprisingly readable, so if you’re worried about not being able to understand it, that won’t be a problem with this book.

I definitely felt like I related most to Jo, but I also felt connected to each of the March sisters throughout the book. One thing that I especially liked it that the book book covers several years in the lives of the March family, so you get to see them grow from teenagers to wives and mothers.

At times you feel overwhelmingly happy for them and at others grief stricken. You know exactly how they’re feeling (always a sign of a great book and author).

It’s semi-autobiographical, based on Louisa May Alcott’s childhood. It’s interesting to get a snapshot into how different (or not different) life was 150 years ago.

I would recommend this book for anyone over 12. Give it a try, and I’m sure you’ll love it like I do.

Image: goodreads.com

4 thoughts on “Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

  1. Hey, GR!
    You asked on my review of Betrayals what the first in the series is called; the first book is called Strange Angels and it’s by Lili St. Crow. Thanks for asking, and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!
    ~ZG

  2. P.S. I like this book, too (and I love the movie!), but I HATE Amy! Teddy thief! >:^( I mean, sure, Jo didn’t want him, but I think that had she given it more time, she’d have come to her senses!!! 😉

  3. Pingback: Happy Mother’s Day « Geeky Reads Blog

Leave a Reply

